I have Seraph Sanctuary in play, which lets me gain life when an Angel enters the battlefield. If I play Call to Serve on a creature, turning it into an Angel, does adding the subtype like that count as an Angel entering the battlefield, so that I gain life?

  • The question I proposed as a duplicate is about adding a type (turning something into a creature) not a subtype, but the answer's the same: the object hasn't entered the battlefield.
    – Cascabel
    Commented Jul 31, 2015 at 2:25
  • @Jefromi Agreed.
    – Waterseas
    Commented Jul 31, 2015 at 13:49

1 Answer 1


No, attaching Call to Serve to a creature you control will not trigger Seraph Sanctuary's ability. A permanent triggers "enters the battlefield" abilities when it transitions from not being on the battlefield to being on the battlefield, whether it be from the resolution of a creature spell, from the creation of a creature token, or from some other instruction. However, Call to Serve just changes the type of a creature that is already on the battlefield.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .