0

Say I play Valeron Warden and then play Knightly Valor, enchanting Valeron Warden. Valeron Warden now has +2/+2 and Vilgilance. On the next turn, I play Archangel of Tithes, a much stronger creature. To make it stronger, can I move the enchantment, Knightly Valor from Valeron Warden and enchant Archangel of Tithes?

All I can find on this is that it must have a target and that it can be sent to the graveyard if the target is sent to the graveyard.

4
  • The thing that can move around between creatures, by the way, is Equipment.
    – Cascabel
    Jul 31, 2015 at 22:26
  • Nice...negative vote. For what? Aug 1, 2015 at 4:32
  • 2
    Asking about downvotes often isn't terribly productive since the user who voted won't be notified about your comment. But my best guess would be lack of research effort (one of the things shown when you hover over the downvote arrow): It's something that's covered in the basic rules, and the Google results for things like "can you move auras mtg" answer this pretty directly
    – Cascabel
    Aug 1, 2015 at 5:01
  • Then shut the site down since this can all be googled! LOL - don't do that. I come to SE when things on a Google search aren't clear to me. Sorry if this is terribly simplistic to the rest of you Aug 1, 2015 at 7:11

3 Answers 3

4

In general once an Aura is enchanting an object it stays enchanting that object. There are no rules that allow you to move Auras from one object to another, therefore you cannot do it.

There are exceptions though, cards like Simic Guildmage have the ability to move Auras to different permanents, and Illusory Gains moves itself whenever a creature enters the battlefield.

12
  • 3
    @SteveMangiameli That isn't how the rule of Magic work. The rules give you permission to do things, since they don't give you permission to move Auras you cannot do so.
    – diego
    Jul 31, 2015 at 19:53
  • 6
    diego's point about the rules telling you what you can do is key. There is no rule that says you can attach auras wherever you want whenever you want, just as there is no rule saying you can't just add mana to your mana pool as you like (who needs lands?). Why not just declare victory? There's no rule saying you can't do that either.
    – Hao Ye
    Jul 31, 2015 at 20:48
  • 2
    @SteveMangiameli - Ah, ok. I guess it wasn't clear to some of us that the question, at heart, was about how auras work, as opposed to the narrower interpretation of "can you move auras at will".
    – Hao Ye
    Jul 31, 2015 at 22:16
  • 1
    @SteveMangiameli The Enchant keyword is defined in rule 702.5, and it doesn't do anything. It just restricts what types of objects the Aura can attach to.
    – murgatroid99
    Jul 31, 2015 at 23:17
  • 2
    @SteveMangiameli As diego showed, "Enchant creature" is NOT an instruction to follow. 303.4 defines what "Enchant creature" means. It doesn't mean "Pick a creature an enchant it". It is a restriction on what sort of things the aura can enchant.
    – GendoIkari
    Aug 1, 2015 at 14:48
3

No you cannot move the enchantment (unless you have a card like Aura Finesse. Aura spells need a target when they are cast.

113.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura’s target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, “Enchant”). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesn’t target anything; only the spell is targeted. (An activated or triggered ability of an Aura permanent can also be targeted.)

The target is only chosen when it is cast and is a spell (ie. on the stack but before it has resolved and entered the battlefield). Unless something allows you to move it (Simic Guildmage, etc.) there is no way for you to cast it again while it is on the battlefield and choose a new target.

3
  • OK...the combination of both 601.2c and 608.2b explicitly state targeting as part of both the casting and resolution of the spell - declaring and verifying a target as legally target-able. This is what Diego was trying to get me to see. But the rule(s) stating as much are what I was looking for. Jul 31, 2015 at 20:56
  • @SteveMangiameli If you have questions like this, the basic rules are really much better. There's a brief bit about auras early on in the rules, then the entry for "aura" in the glossary tells you pretty much exactly what it means, and it's all written to be much more understandable than the comprehensive rules.
    – Cascabel
    Jul 31, 2015 at 22:16
  • 2
    @SteveMangiameli Also note that these don't specifically say it can't be moved, they just explain that when you cast it you get to attach it to a creature. The reason you can't move it is exactly what diego said: this is all the rules say you can do.
    – Cascabel
    Jul 31, 2015 at 22:48
1

An Aura is attached to something when it enters the battlefield, and it doesn't get to move around. From the basic rules (in the glossary):

Aura

A special type of enchantment that can be attached to a permanent. Each Aura has the keyword "enchant" followed by what it can be attached to: "enchant creature," "enchant land," and so on. When you cast an Aura spell, you choose one of the right kind of permanent to target. When the Aura resolves, it's put onto the battlefield attached to that permanent (it's not targeting it anymore). The Aura stays there until it's destroyed or the permanent it's attached to leaves the battlefield. If the permanent leaves the battlefield, the Aura card is put into your graveyard.

Yes, you can figure out the answer to your question from the comprehensive rules (113.1b plus the generic rules for casting a spell in 601.2, and the lack of anything in the rules that says you can move it around), but the basic rules are easier and quicker to understand, and you also learn a lot more in the process. For example in this case, you learned for free that auras go to the graveyard when they get detached, but from the comprehensive rules you'd have to have thought to look up state-based actions to find out. And to really verify that there wasn't something somewhere that did say they could be moved, you'd have to search/read through everything about auras.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .