1

Okay so when I was looking up the answer to a different question I had I found this

You assign 2 damage on the first target, but he's not dead yet until you assign all 5 damage that you have. So all the remaining creature are still 2/2 so you are forces to a assign at least 2 damages on each so assign 2 damage on the second in the row, and 1 damage to the 3rd creature for a grand total of 5 damages. The forth creature receive no damage.

So if this is correct, this is something I didn't know about blocking multiple creatures (I'm fairly new to the game and have never actually had it happen, only been reading about the fact that you can double block)

So if I attack with 6/6, and am blocked with 4/4 and 2/3

This is how I thought it worked

  • I choose order of 4/4 then 2/3

  • So 4/4 dies because I did 6 damage, 6/6 took 4

  • 2/3 dies because I did 6 damage, 6/6 took 2

  • My 6/6 died because it took a total of 6 damage

So is that correct? Or is it like this

  • Attack with 6/6

  • Blocked by 4/4 and 2/3

  • Order of 4/4 then 2/3, 4 damage and 2 damage (Total of 6, my creatures attack number)

  • 4/4 dies because it took 4 damage, 6/6 takes 4 damage

  • 2/3 lives because it took 2 damage, 6/6 take 2 damage

  • My 6/6 dies because it took a total of 6 damage

Source

  • Note that the formatting is not coming out the way you are intending here. On this site, when you place just a single new line in your text, it treats it just like a space. This is causing your questions to look like they are missing punctuation and making them hard to read correctly. You can check the question preview as you are typing to see how it will look. – GendoIkari Aug 10 '15 at 0:33
4

It is the second one. Because your creature has a power of 6, you can deal a total of 6 damage during combat. If you are blocked by 2 creatures, you can choose how to divide that 6 damage between the 2 blocking creatures (though you you have assign lethal damage to one of them in order to also deal damage to the other). You don't get to deal 6 damage to each creature.

5

The latter. Each creature deals damage equal to its power to all blockers, attackers and defending players or planeswalkers, not to each of them.

Simultaneously,

  • The 6/6 deals 4 damage to the 4/4[1].
  • The 6/6 deals 2 damage to the 2/3.
  • The 4/4 deals 4 damage to the 6/6.
  • The 2/3 deals 2 damage to the 6/6.

Shortly after, when State-Based Actions are performed, the following happens simultaneously:

  • The 6/6 is destroyed for having damage equal to or exceeding its toughness.
  • The 4/4 is destroyed for having damage equal to or exceeding its toughness.

  1. That's assuming the minimum damage is dealt to each creature. You can choose to "overkill" if you so desire, but it's rarely helpful.
  • His first scenario, what he thought was true, is that his creature deals 6 damage to EACH of the blocking creatures. – GendoIkari Aug 10 '15 at 0:30
  • They are different because in one, the 2/3 survives because I was only allowed to deal 2 damage to it because I already used 4 damage on the 4/4 to kill it – 128Gigabytes Aug 10 '15 at 0:31
  • Regarding "overkill is rarely helpful", it's quite common to have combat tricks that will allow a creature to survive the initially allocated amount of damage so if you are more interested in killing one over the other you may want to factor in whatever combat tricks the opponent might have available and then assign your damage whilst taking that into account. – Cronax Aug 18 '15 at 13:08
  • 1
    @Cronax, That makes no sense. There's no chance to do any "combat tricks" after damage is assigned. (510.1. First, the active player announces how each attacking creature assigns its combat damage, then the defending player announces how each blocking creature assigns its combat damage. [...] 510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously. [...]) The only time it makes sense to overkill is when abilities (such as Lifelink) there are abilities that check how much damage was done, or when shields that are already in place would reduce the damage. – ikegami Aug 18 '15 at 13:14
  • @ikegami as far as I am aware, as seen in mtgsalvation.gamepedia.com/Declare_Blockers_Step part 509.5 is the moment where you could play combat tricks but where damage assignment order has already been declared – Cronax Aug 18 '15 at 13:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.