3

One of the Shub-Niggurath mysteries calls for action after a monster is defeated. Does this include when you discard a monster from a Tokyo encounter or kill it from inducing a loss of health from Tokyo? With no further clarification on the wording, I would think discarding an entire monster would be considered defeating it as it gets blasted from the Earth.

4

Page 8 of the Reference Guide

Monster

When a Monster has lost Health equal to or greater than its toughness, it is defeated.

When a Monster is defeated or discarded, it is returned to the Monster cup and the cup is randomized.

If you have to encounter something (such as an ambush) on a temporary basis and are able to do enough damage to it in one go to kill it, then it is considered 'defeated'. However, it does make a distinction here about both 'defeated' and 'discarded'. This means that, as far as I can tell, there is a precedence about the difference between the two. So, no, discarding does not equal defeated.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.