2

I have an Ezekiel, Grand Master of Librarians, which is a dark angels HQ and I have a grey knight army. Can I use Ezekiel as my HQ?

3
  • And if not what librarian can i use in the army? doesn't have to be a HQ. – Lewis Trantor Aug 17 '15 at 18:35
  • Are you asking if you can combine two units in a single army, or are you asking if you can use one of them as your HQ? – Joe Aug 17 '15 at 18:56
  • I have a full 1.5k point grey knight army but no HQ so can i use that dark angels librarian as my HQ? – Lewis Trantor Aug 17 '15 at 19:45
3

You could always take Ezekiel and say he counts as a Grey Knights librarian. Remember they are your models, and you can paint them how you like. Nobody can object because you used a slightly different model.

3

Short answer: in the 7th edition of WH40k, you can create an X point Unbound army from any units you have, so yes. (Note that Unbound armies have some limitations when it comes to holding objectives, etc., so look it up in the rulebook.)


Longer answer: based on your comment to your question and depending on what rules your game group has on army building, you probably want to create a Battle Forged army, which you cannot create with the 1500 points of non-HQ Grey Knights and a Dark Angels HQ.

Grey Knights and Dark Angels can be taken as allies, but as per the rules for taking allies, you need to take the allies in an Allied Detachment and your main force in a Combined Arms Detachment.

For a Combined Arms Detachment you need, and can have:

  • 1-2 HQ
  • 2-6 Troops
  • 0-3 Elites
  • 0-3 Fast Attack
  • 0-3 Heavy Support
  • 0-1 Fortifications
  • 0-1 Lord of War

So you need at least one Grey Knights HQ for your main detachment. For an Allied Detachment you need, and can have:

  • 1 HQ
  • 1-2 Troops
  • 0-1 Elites
  • 0-1 Fast Attack
  • 0-1 Heavy Support

So to wield Ezekiel with your Grey Knights in an appropriate detachment you would need to take at least one Dark Angels Troop with him.


If you're just playing with your friends, you can probably agree with them that you would both play with 1500p, and you would just not have a HQ. But for more organised games, you need to get a Grey Knights HQ, but you would only need a single model to make your army follow the rules. After all, every army needs a leader!

0

You couldn't take him inside a GK formation, but you could have him join a GK squad (say, Paladins with a Librarian) since he is an Independent Character.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.