Suppose I have both Kor Spiritdancer and Mesa Enchantress under my control. They have two similar abilities:

Kor Spiritdancer: Whenever you cast an Aura spell, you may draw a card.

Mesa Enchantress: Whenever you cast an enchantment spell, you may draw a card.

If I now cast an Enchantment — Aura card, do I draw two cards or one?

  • 1
    If X says do A if Z and Y says do B if z, if Zz, do I do A and B?
    – Waterseas
    Aug 18, 2015 at 21:58
  • Welcome to the site! Note that you can auto-link to MTG cards by using [mtg:cardname].
    – GendoIkari
    Aug 18, 2015 at 22:30
  • The possible duplicate I proposed has different cards, but it's basically the same situation: you have two creatures each with a triggered ability, and they both trigger.
    – Cascabel
    Aug 18, 2015 at 23:25
  • Disagree on duplicate. The answer is the same, but the question is not, which is the definition of duplicate. Just because a question has the same answer as another because they both can be answered by the same rule does not make it a duplicate, because that's the point of rules: cover a lot of different situations under one rule.
    – Hackworth
    Aug 19, 2015 at 6:39
  • 1
    @murgatroid99 Ugh, I guess I picked the wrong one. The right one is probably: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/15036/… (though it's quite possible we could do a much better job writing a more generic question and more clear answer now)
    – Cascabel
    Aug 19, 2015 at 15:57

1 Answer 1


You can draw 2 cards. When you cast an Aura spell, then 2 separate triggered abilities will trigger. You choose the order in which to put them on the stack (the order doesn't matter in this case), and then you will have 2 separate instances of "you may draw a card" on the stack, which will resolve one at a time.

  • thanks a lot :) ... Same (draw 2 cards) with two spiritdancers or two Mesa's ...am i right?
    – Roman
    Aug 18, 2015 at 22:59
  • @Roman Right. 2 separate sources with 2 separate triggered abilities that each go on the stack and each resolve separately.
    – Becuzz
    Aug 19, 2015 at 13:56

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .