4

This question is a followup of this question.

Let's say, we have A, B C and D again:

First round: If A chooses Power plant, but D wins, then A will initiate another auction. Again when A chooses Power plant, but C wins, then A will initiate yet another auction. Looks like A has a slight adavantage here - it can potentially force others to bid higher for a power plant, or trick them into buying plants which it does not intend.

If A passes during an auction which it started, does it still get the option to initiate the next auction?

Subsequent rounds: If A chooses Power plant, D wins, who initiates the auction again? A or B? If A initiates, then how is a subsequent round is any different from the first round? If B initiates, does this mean A never gets the chance to initiate an auction again in this round?

9

It sounds like you are mixing different uses of the word "round". When the rules say "Exception: In the first round of the game, each player must buy a power plant" it means round as in a full round of the game, where there's auction, resource buying, etc. But you seem to be using round to mean a round of the action phase, where 1 plant is auctioned off.

So in the very first round of the game, the player whose turn it is to pick a plant is not allowed to pass. He must pick a plant to bid on. In later rounds, if it is your turn to pick a plant for auction, you can pass instead, in which case you do not get to buy a plant at all until the next game round.

If you pass in the middle of a specific auction for a specific plant, that just means you can no longer bid on that plant. You can still bid on the next plant to be auctioned, or pick a plant yourself when your turn comes up.

9

In all of your cases A chooses the next power plant. The rules are quite clear:

When a player other than the player who started the auction wins the auction, the auctioning player may choose a new plant to auction from the actual market or pass

A will keep putting power plants up for bid until either

  • A wins a power plant auction
  • A passes (and is out for the entire phase, they will not get a power plant this turn)

Remember, that when choosing a power plant A must make the first bid for at least the minimum printed on the power plant card.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.