8

King of Tokyo: Powerup has an evolution card for Meka Dragon called Mecha Blast that reads:

Discard this Evolution to deal 2 extra damage.

There is also a discardable card from the main game called High Altitude Bombing which reads:

All monsters (including you) take 3 damage.

Can Mecha Blast be played after/during High Altitude Bombing to make it do 5 damage instead of 3 to everyone?

7

If the card doesn't specify that the damage has to come from you it's not considered an "attack". The rules state

If a card deals damage when purchased (like Gas Refinery), this is not considered an attack. Monsters cannot yield Tokyo based on this damage, and cards that affect attacks do not affect these cards.

Since the Mecha Blast evolution does not specify that it effects an attack and since the rules also state that you can use your evolution cards at any time, then you should be able to add 2 damage to any damage that was dealt. In this case 5 damage would be dealt to everyone, including you.

Keep in mind that you must be alive at the end of your turn in order to win.

  • I wouldn't necessarily interpret it this way. Seems at least as likely that you could add 2 extra damage to just 1 person, as you are causing damage to each person. – GendoIkari Aug 23 '15 at 0:16
  • I'm assuming you meant to say "does not specify that it effects an attack"? – Michael Aug 23 '15 at 1:43
  • @Michael yes, I fixed it – Dallin Aug 23 '15 at 14:24
  • Makes sense - thank you. And yes, I would have been (barely alive) had I pulled off this combo. :) – Michael Aug 24 '15 at 4:33
  • 1
    I agree with Gendolkari's concern. While the game's effects aren't well-defined, Mecha Blast says to deal 2 extra damage, not to add 2 damage to an effect that's dealing damage. So you pick someone you're dealing damage to, and then you deal 2 extra damage. On the other side of things, if you're attacking, it might be reasonable to apply it to everyone. Ultimately it's a playgroup or game-owner interpretation, due to the lack of official clarification. – Samthere Aug 25 '15 at 10:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.