1

In Online Canasta - I cannot understand how the opponent can pick up the discard pile before melding. I have been melding before taking the top card from the discard pile. They have a huge advantage and get all of the good discards before melding.

Would appreciate the answer --thank you

4

In Canasta (any number of players); you can use the top card of the discard pile as part of your initial meld, but you cannot use the rest. So if you have 2 of a kind in your hand, and your opponent discards a third, you can pick up the pile as long as you meet the requirement for minimum meld points.

Once you have that initial meld, you can immediately meld anything else you want, including anything else that was in the discard pile.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.