7

We combined Abbey & Mayor with Bridges, Castles & Bazaars for the first time last night, and one situation cropped up for which I want to clarify the rules.

I created a small city (with no banners), as defined for the Castle requirements, but only had a Mayor to hand. The Mayor rules state:

When a city containing a mayor is scored, ...

IE the banner / number of followers rule doesn't come into play here as the city -> castle is specifically not a scoring event.

The Castle rules state:

... the owner of the city chooses whether to score 4 points, as normal, or to make it into a castle.

The CAR changes "owner" to "occupier", but otherwise is more or less the same. Since I'm not scoring, my reading is that the Mayor is the owner/occupier.

Is my interpretation correct - can a Mayor become a lord in a castle?

7

Short and simple answer: The mayor cannot be placed in a castle.
(From footnote 161 in the Carcassonne Complete Annotated Rules)

If the mayor is in a city that is turned into a castle, you won't get any points from the mayor as there are no banners in a castle. In that case, the mayor will not be returned to you until the castle is scored (that is to say, an adjacent structure is completed).

  • 1
    Thanks - I missed that footnote! Was looking more under the castles section. May be worth mentioning that this footnote takes the form of an official clarification. – James Thorpe Aug 27 '15 at 8:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.