Imagine the following setup:

  • Player A has 6 points, including the Longest Road.
  • Player B has 8 points with an equally long road.
  • Player C has 9 points with a shorter road.

Now what would happen if Player C places a village, breaking Player A's road chain? At that moment Player A would have 4 points, while both Player B and Player C would have 10.

In this case, who would be declared the victor?

  • 6
    I removed your second question, since we prefer that each question only asks one question. It is an interesting question however so I would recommend you repost it as its own question.
    – diego
    Sep 1, 2015 at 20:12

2 Answers 2


Only the player who is currently taking their turn can win the game, so player C would be the winner.

Official Rule:

ENDING THE GAME If you have—or reach—10 victory points on your turn, the game ends immediately and you win! You can only win during your turn. If somehow you find you have 10 victory points during another player’s turn, you must wait until your next turn to claim victory.

Source: Downloads page on www.catan.com

  • IIRC the 5-6 player expansion allows multiple players to win; since it changes the rules so you can build on any turn.
    – esoterik
    Sep 1, 2015 at 20:48
  • 17
    @esoterik There is nothing in the 5-6 player extension rules that changes the winning conditions. If you build a settlement that secures enough points for victory during someone else's turn, you still have to wait for your turn to claim victory.
    – ghoppe
    Sep 1, 2015 at 21:28
  • Notably, in extreme cases you can get 11 points and still lose, if the active player builds a settlement that interrupts a different player's longest road.
    – mousetail
    May 15, 2023 at 12:27

No, there can't be two winners at the same time even if they have the same point total. You can win only on your turn.

Player C wins, because he reaches ten points (after adding the village) on his turn.

If Player C started with eight points, and added a village for nine, then play would continue to Player A. That's true even though Player B has ten points, because Player A might break up Player B's longest road (or do something else to reduce his point total). If the play then gets around to Player B and he still has ten points, he wins without playing, because someone else "made" his ten points for him. But he can't win until his turn.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .