7

Imagine the following setup. There are 3 (or more) players with an equally long road. What would happen if the longest road was broken? How is it decided who obtains the longest road from there on?

  • 4
    Apparently this was answered here to a different question. – Peter Raeves Sep 1 '15 at 20:23
  • 4
    The other question asks if you retain longest road if your road suddenly drops below the required length, but it is still longer than anyone else's. Your question asks who gets longest road if your road suddenly drops below two other players who are tied for longest. I think the two questions are different. – Rainbolt Sep 1 '15 at 20:31
  • 1
    @PeterRaeves My comment is not a repeat (you made no effort to explain why the questions are different, whereas I did). If you are wondering why it needed to be explained, it is because your question has close votes on it that you cannot see due to your reputation. – Rainbolt Sep 2 '15 at 0:41
  • 1
    @AndrewVandever I agree with you. These questions should indeed have been merged, but it looks like Rainbolt disagrees. You could always make it a question on meta, to see what the community thinks. I'm fine either way. – Peter Raeves Sep 9 '15 at 8:58
  • 1
    Nah, I don't feel strongly enough about it to be bothered with a meta post. :) – Andrew Vandever Sep 9 '15 at 17:30
14

No. The rules are pretty clear about this:

Set the “Longest Road” card aside if—after a longest road is broken—several players tie for the new longest road or no one has a 5+ segment road. The “Longest Road” card comes into play again when only 1 player has the longest road (of at least 5 road pieces)

Your example exactly meets the criteria, "after a longest road is broken" and "several players tie for the new longest road".

  • 1
    Hah. The "rules" are not clear, because they're different in different versions! See Diego's answer, which is correct to the 150303 rules (pdf link). In this set of rules, if the person who previously had the longest road card is now tied for longest road, they retain it (as long as the road is 5 or longer). With the 091907 rules (the link in your answer) this special case is not mentioned, and hence wouldn't apply. – AndyT Sep 2 '15 at 15:09
  • However, perhaps I should say, your answer is completely correct for the OP's question, as in that example neither of the two players now tied for longest road was previously the holder of the card. – AndyT Sep 2 '15 at 15:10
4

According to the Catan FAQ it depends on a few things.

  1. If the player that had the longest road still has the longest road and it is 5 roads long or longer, or is tied for it, they keep it
  2. If the player that had the longest road no longer has the longest road and one other player has a uniquely longest road (greater than 5 pieces), that player gets the longest road
  3. If the player that had the longest road no longer has the longest road, and no players have a road at least 5 pieces long, or the longest road is a tie (not including the former longest road owner) the player that had it loses it and nobody gains it.

So in your case nobody would end up with the longest road.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.