Can you cast a counterspell on a spell that can't be countered, or is it not a legal target...

Just wondering if you can Frightful Delusion something that can't be countered but still have the player discard.


Yes you can, since the targeting requirement for counter spells is just 'target spell' not 'target spell that can be countered'.

When the counterspell goes to resolve it will do as much as possible, so it won't counter the spell but any other effects it would have (like Frightful Delusion's discard) will still happen.

  • 3
    Similarly, you can target a tapped creature with a "tap target creature".
    – GendoIkari
    Sep 2 '15 at 18:46
  • 1
    This means you can still Deprive an Emrakul to trigger your Sphinx-Bone Wand for the kill! Huzzah!
    – corsiKa
    Sep 2 '15 at 19:18
  • @Gendolkari's example is thoroughly covered here. In fact, this question could be considered a duplicate of the one answered at that link.
    – ikegami
    Sep 3 '15 at 4:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.