Question for marble movement. Your partner has a marble in their in-spot ( start of home). If you hit that marble with yours, what happens to your partners marble? And yours? We have been playing with this sequence of events: the rule is that when you hit your partners marble it is sent to its in-spot. That position is now occupied by your marble so now your partners marble hits yours and sends you to your in-spot. The end result would be both of you are in your in-spots. Any thoughts on this play? Thanks.
Yes, that is actually (and strangely) correct.
Rule 3: ...If player 2’s ("Your partner's") home position hole is occupied by one of his/her own pegs then move that peg to his/her start position. If player 2’s ("Your partner's") home position is occupied by any other peg, follow rules 3 and 4 recursively until the last peg has found an unoccupied hole.
Some of the basic rules:
- You cannot pass or land on your own marble (either moving forward or moving backward).
- You can pass or land on your partner's or an opponent's marble.
- If you lands on your partner's marble, your partner's marble is moved to its "In Spot" (the space just outside of the "Safe Area").
If your partner's "In Spot" is occupied by one of your marbles, that marble is moved to its "In Spot" and then the landed on marble is moved to your partner's now empty "In Spot".
If your partner's "In Spot" is occupied by any other marble, that marble is returned to its starting position ("Home Area").
- If you lands on an opponent's marble, the opponent's marble is returned to its starting position ("Home Area").