Here is the situation: I have a Fetid Imp on the field, and my opponent has two Disowned Ancestors and Anafenza, the Foremost. Now I play Languish to give all creatures -4/-4.

Is Fetid Imp exiled due to Anafenza's ability, or is it destroyed and sent to my graveyard as Anafenza dies at the same time?

  • 3
    It is destroyed either way. The question is whether destroying it will exile it or send it to its owner's graveyard. – ikegami Sep 10 '15 at 7:00

It will be exiled.

Anafenza's relevant ability is not a triggered ability. It's a static ability that creates a continuous replacement effect.

The effect from Anafenza's ability modifies the instruction "Put Fetid Imp, the two Disowned Ancestors and Anafenza into their owner's graveyard" because replacement effects must necessarily be applied before taking the action they replace, at which time Anafenza is still on the battlefield.

This is confirmed by a ruling on Void Maw. Void Maw has the ability "If another creature would die, exile it instead", and the ruling reads "If Void Maw and another creature would be put into the graveyard from the battlefield at the same time, [...] the other creature is exiled."

Also, @Vilmar points out this article, which specifically answers this question (in the "Anafenza and Day of Judgment" section).

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.