5

Given that Felidar Sovereign is being reprinted in Battle for Zendikar, I have a question about the win condition and nobody I know can help. I was hoping someone on here could.

If I am at over 40 life with a Felidar Sovereign in the graveyard and I have a Sheoldred, Whispering One on the battlefield, can I use Sheoldred's ability to bring the Felidar back in my upkeep and win the game?

  • 1
    "At the beginning of your upkeep" triggers as the Upkeep Step is entered, before Sheoldred's ability is placed on the stack, before Sheoldred's ability resolves, and before Felidar Sovereign is placed on the battlefield. – ikegami Sep 11 '15 at 14:38
  • @RyuAkamatsu That was @diego (who also happens to be user who answered your question). By the way, you can tag cards with the syntax [mtg:Card Name]. It automatically creates the links for you. – Rainbolt Sep 11 '15 at 14:43
  • 1
    Oh thank you then to both of you. And I'll make sure to tag next time :) – RyuAkamatsu Sep 11 '15 at 14:45
12

No, you will not win the game this turn.

This is because both abilities are triggered abilities with "At the beginning of your upkeep" as the trigger. But the Sovereign is in the graveyard at the beginning of your upkeep so it will not trigger, and after Sheoldred's ability resolves and the Sovereign is one the battlefield it is no longer the beginning of your upkeep so it will not trigger this turn.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.