3

In the scenario where a player has 9 cards at the end of their turn and drawing two more cards gives them a Tenacious Z, can they discard it and play it if one hasn't already been played?

In step #5 of the rules, "Shut It Down", it states that:

Anything that happens at the end of the turn happens here. Play passes to the player on the left.

Since Tenacious Z is a special card, it also states:

Special: During your turn you many play this card from you discard pile as an extra minion. You may only use the ability of one Tenacious Z each turn.

Since a turn involves five steps, is this card still playable after drawing two more cards?

  • The answer is no, but I don't have time for a full answer right now. I'll come back to it later :) – Samthere Sep 12 '15 at 11:54
  • I like @ryanyuyu's explanation below. I anxiously await your full answer since my initial thought process was also "no". :) – Chris Missal Sep 12 '15 at 15:01
  • @ChrisMissal I regret that I am wrong. I've deleted my answer. – ryanyuyu Sep 12 '15 at 16:10
4

No.

From the Pretty Pretty Smash Up rules, page 10:

On your turn: This means during the normal Play Cards phase of your turn.

The turn order is:

  1. Start Turn
  2. Play Cards (normal time for plays)
  3. Score Bases
  4. Draw 2 Cards (and then discard)
  5. End Turn

By the time you're drawing and discarding, you've missed the window of opportunity for Tenacious Z's special. If it wanted to override this limitation, it would have to be explicit (e.g. "during any phase on your turn").

| improve this answer | |
  • As a note, try to find the most recent expansion's rule whenever possible. They clarify confusing things from earlier games and always cover the whole set of rules. – Samthere Sep 12 '15 at 15:35
  • Good catch. I'll delete my erroneous answer. – ryanyuyu Sep 12 '15 at 16:04
  • @ryanyuyu Yeah, yours was a reasonable enough interpretation that they realised that had to clarify in the later rules :) – Samthere Sep 12 '15 at 19:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.