I am building an edh deck for about 5 dollars and was wondering, If I cast Sickening Dreams dealing more than enough damage to kill my opponent and I at the same time, who wins?

2 Answers 2


It's a draw. Whenever all remaining players lose at the same time, the game ends in a draw.

From the Basic Rulebook, under "Winning the Game:

If both players would lose the game at the same time, the game is a draw—nobody wins.

Similar information is repeated under the glossary for "Life total" and "draw the game".


The game is a draw. MTG's rules are not designed to try to prevent draws. This is perhaps most evidenced by the card Divine Intervention which can specifically cause the game to end in a draw.

  • Note if you want to link to a Magic card you can use [mtg:Card Name], also if you make an edit to your answer just make the edit, don't point out that you changed something.
    – diego
    Commented Sep 18, 2015 at 20:10
  • Fair enough, thanks for the pointer on [mtg:Card Name]. This was my first post in this exchange and I wasn't sure of the style preferences here. I know some places prefer people to make obvious edits after initial post.
    – Jocken
    Commented Sep 21, 2015 at 14:13

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .