I am building an edh deck for about 5 dollars and was wondering, If I cast Sickening Dreams dealing more than enough damage to kill my opponent and I at the same time, who wins?


It's a draw. Whenever all remaining players lose at the same time, the game ends in a draw.

From the Basic Rulebook, under "Winning the Game:

If both players would lose the game at the same time, the game is a draw—nobody wins.

Similar information is repeated under the glossary for "Life total" and "draw the game".


The game is a draw. MTG's rules are not designed to try to prevent draws. This is perhaps most evidenced by the card Divine Intervention which can specifically cause the game to end in a draw.

  • Note if you want to link to a Magic card you can use [mtg:Card Name], also if you make an edit to your answer just make the edit, don't point out that you changed something.
    – diego
    Sep 18 '15 at 20:10
  • Fair enough, thanks for the pointer on [mtg:Card Name]. This was my first post in this exchange and I wasn't sure of the style preferences here. I know some places prefer people to make obvious edits after initial post.
    – Jocken
    Sep 21 '15 at 14:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.