0

Does phasing allow for a Tribute to trigger twice, since the creature continues to re-enter the battle field? For example, if I enchant my Nessian Wilds Ravager with Vanishing, does this mean that my Ravager will get to fight a second creature when he phases in (or gain an additional +6/+6)?

9

No, phasing won't cause Tribute or any other enters-the-battlefield abilities to trigger. A phased-out creature is treated as if it weren't on the battlefield for most effects, but phasing back in doesn't count as re-entering the battlefield.

702.25d The phasing event doesn’t actually cause a permanent to change zones or control, even though it’s treated as though it’s not on the battlefield and not under its controller’s control while it’s phased out. Zone-change triggers don’t trigger when a permanent phases in or out. Counters remain on a permanent while it’s phased out. Effects that check a phased-in permanent’s history won’t treat the phasing event as having caused the permanent to leave or enter the battlefield or its controller’s control.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.