Just got the firefly boardgame a few weeks ago and have a couple group games and two solo plays done.
One thing I can't figure out yet is why you wouldn't always assign your entire crew to a job.
No matter if they are assigned they are need to be payed and will get disgruntled if you do an immoral job and they are moral, so the only reason I can see is if you are ready doing a Niska job and don't want to risk them getting killed.

I am still playing the stock game, no expansions yet. Really looking forward to snagging pirates and bounty hunters, the added player interaction seems to be the one glaring hole in the mechanics so far.

1 Answer 1


The question makes no sense; the game has no concept of assigning crew to a job.

That said, it is possible that some crew members are not available to Misbehave. For example, Shepherd Book stays on the ship for immoral jobs, River Tam may have returned to the ship due to an earlier roll, and a medic may have returned a crew to the ship to heal.

Shepherd Book

  • 1
    What rule are you referring to here?
    – freekvd
    Commented Sep 30, 2015 at 6:25
  • 1
    Sorry I don't understand, do you think you could include this rule in your answer? I'm only seeing implicit references.
    – freekvd
    Commented Sep 30, 2015 at 6:33
  • @freekvd I edited the answer to include an example card (assuming it gets accepted by the review). I only found two cards in the base game that affect this rule. Hopefully its flushed out a bit more in expansions.
    – Chris
    Commented Oct 1, 2015 at 1:12
  • I am confused as well; I don't know what rule the you are referring to. Your answer mentions "this rule", but the question doesn't ask about any rule.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Oct 1, 2015 at 14:25
  • That sounds much more like a lack of a rule than a rule. The OP doesn't make mention of the fact that there's a rule saying you don't have to assign everyone to a job. He just asks why you wouldn't choose to assign everyone to a job.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Oct 1, 2015 at 18:32

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .