7

I'm quite new to playing MtG, and had a question about Erebos, God of the Dead. It needs five devotion (5 black mana symbols on permanents on your field) to be a creature. Does the 1 black mana symbol on that card count toward my devotion to black? My friends and I were unsure.

  • 6
    The answers indirectly point this out, but there's no separate notion of devotion for Erebos ("its own devotion" as you suggest in the title), just one number: your devotion to black. – Cascabel Oct 1 '15 at 15:42
12

To quote one of the rulings on Gatherer:

If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.

Also from the rules:

700.5. A player’s devotion to [color] is equal to the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents that player controls. A player’s devotion to [color 1] and [color 2] is equal to the number of mana symbols among the mana costs of permanents that player controls that are [color 1], [color 2], or both colors.

Since the god is a permenant, it's mana symbols in it's casting cost count towards your devotion.

4

As long as Erebos, God of the Dead, or any other card, is on the battlefield, it counts towards your devotion.

700.5. A player’s devotion to [color] is equal to the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents that player controls.

110.1. A permanent is a card or token on the battlefield.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.