For example, I am wanting to make token copies of a legendary creature such as Progenitus using something like Progenitor Mimic. I know this is illegal by itself, but does there exist a card that would allow this?

  • 3
    FYI, Brothers Yamazaki cancel the rule for themselves
    – Ivo
    Commented Oct 6, 2015 at 5:42
  • 1
    @IvoBeckers They don't exactly cancel it entirely. They ignore it if there are 2, but if there are 3 it still applies and each player can only keep 1.
    – Samthere
    Commented Oct 6, 2015 at 10:11
  • Note, you can in fact copy Progenitus with Progenitor Mimic.
    – Waterseas
    Commented Oct 6, 2015 at 13:49
  • I believe what Waterseas is saying is that it's not illegal to use Progenitor Mimic as you described. Yes, the Legendary rule might kick in, but that doesn't make it illegal.
    – ikegami
    Commented Oct 7, 2015 at 13:31
  • 1
    You may already be able to copy progenitus with progenitor mimic, but the mimic's ability would be useless, as the token copies it makes would all be legendary creatures. Hence, why I needed to cancel the legend rule.
    – SnYYYpE
    Commented Oct 8, 2015 at 0:11

1 Answer 1


The card you are looking for is Mirror Gallery, which is an artifact with the text

The "legend rule" doesn't apply.

In addition, Lazav, Dimir Mastermind and Sakashima the Impostor become copies of other creatures, but they keep their own names, so they can copy other legendary creatures without dying due to the legend rule.

  • If you are looking in standard I would say spark double is an example of a card that breaks the Legend rule.
    – Styxsksu
    Commented Jun 26, 2020 at 14:31
  • And now we have a new card that does this effect as well, Mirror Box!
    – JonTheMon
    Commented Mar 3, 2022 at 22:05

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .