8

Let's say I control a Shambling Vent and then cast a spell with Awaken 3, targeting the Vent. The Shambling Vent becomes a 0/0 Land Creature - Elemental with 3 +1/+1 counters on it, no problem there.

I then activate Shambling Vent's second ability, turning it into a 2/3 white and black Land Creature - Elemental with lifelink and 3 +1/+1 counters on it. I know that the new P/T setting ability overwrites the first so I effectively have a 5/6 Land Creature, still no problems here.

However I'm not sure what happens when the turn ends and Shambling Vent's ability wears off. Does it go back to being a 0/0 elemental or does it stop being a creature entirely?

10

Both Awaken and Vent's ability generate a continuous effect that applies changes in layers 4 and 7b – type and power/toughness accordingly (also some other layers which do not intersect).

611.1. A continuous effect modifies characteristics of objects, modifies control of objects, or affects players or the rules of the game, for a fixed or indefinite period.

613.1d Layer 4: Type-changing effects are applied. These include effects that change an object’s card type, subtype, and/or supertype.

613.3b Layer 7b: Effects that set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value are applied. Effects that refer to the base power and/or toughness of a creature apply in this layer.

Awaken's effect is not "overwritten" by Vent's ability. Rather, Vent's ability is applied "over" it and takes precedence due to being more recent (timestamp rule).

613.6. Within a layer or sublayer, determining which order effects are applied in is usually done using a timestamp system. An effect with an earlier timestamp is applied before an effect with a later timestamp

Therefore, after Shambling Vent's ability wears off it will go back to being a 0/0 Land Creature - Elemental due to Awaken's effect.

2

I believe the 3 +1/+1 counters will remain on the Vent even after the Vent's ability wears off at end of turn. So even though the P/T is reset to 0/0, it will still effectively be a 3/3 after the end of turn phase.

  • While this answer isn't wrong, it lacks evidence/citation and explanation for what you described, and it doesn't contribute anything that wasn't already stated in the accepted answer. These and other points can also be found in the How do I write a good answer? help article. That said, thanks for trying to help out, and welcome to the network! :) – TheThirdMan Dec 1 '17 at 10:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.