12

I was playing a game earlier and my opponent had a Drana, Liberator of Malakir that was a 4/3 and wanted to use a sorcery to fight Kozilek's Channeler that was a 4/4.

We were wondering if the Channeler would die first because of First Strike? Or would it not be counted as it wasn't combat?

17

First Strike does not apply because it isn't combat.

701.10d The damage dealt when a creature fights isn’t combat damage.

702.7a First strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the combat damage step.

  • 1
    Thanks, that's what I thought but we really weren't sure – RyuAkamatsu Oct 6 '15 at 13:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.