4

Devouring Greed states:

As an additional cost to cast Devouring Greed, you may sacrifice any number of Spirits. Target player loses 2 life plus 2 life for each Spirit sacrificed this way. You gain that much life.

Does this only apply to cards that have a type/class of "Creature - Spirit" or does it include cards with a class of "Dragon Spirit" or "Demon Spirit"?

I have tried to research this but can't figure out the correct terms to search for.

8

After a little more research and finding some loosely related info on another question here I found the following in the rules.

302.3. Creature subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: "Creature -- Human Soldier," "Artifact Creature -- Golem," and so on. Creature subtypes are also called creature types. Creatures may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3m for the complete list of creature types. Example: "Creature -- Goblin Wizard" means the card is a creature with the subtypes Goblin and Wizard.

If a creature has a subtype of "demon spirit", it is a "demon" and a "spirit" which I believe satisfies the "spirits" requirement of "Devouring Greed".

  • 4
    Note that the subtypes for Tribal are the same as those for Creature. If there were some card with the typeline "Tribal Enchantment - Spirit", it could be sacrificed as part of the additional cost to cast Devouring Greed. (see also Boggart Shenanigans + Goblin Grenade) – Hao Ye Oct 21 '15 at 10:13
  • 2
    @HaoYe As long as it's a permanent, rather than just a card :) – Samthere Oct 21 '15 at 14:21
1

A card may have several creature types but at least one of them has to be spirit for them to be able to get sacrificed.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.