As the title says, can a blocking creature fight? If so, what happens if the blocking creature dies before damage is dealt? How would damage be dealt during combat?

Example: Creature A is a 2/2 and it is blocking creature B, which is also 2/2. Before combat damage, I cast an instant forcing creature A to fight creature C, another 2/2, so that both A and C die.

  • It does not sound like fighting really has anything to do with the question at-hand; the question is about what happens if a blocking creature dies before combat damage is dealt.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Oct 22, 2015 at 18:16
  • @Gendolkari The original question was "Can a blocking creature fight? If so, what happens if it dies before damage is dealt?" The revised question is "What happens if it dies before damage is dealt?" Part of the original question was lost in your edit, and so I added it back.
    – Rainbolt
    Commented Oct 22, 2015 at 18:36
  • Given the grammar/formatting, it was hard to know the intention, but I assumed (maybe incorrectly) that "fighting" in this case was simply the way in which the creature died. But as worded now, it really should be asked as 2 separate questions, and both of them should be closed as duplicates anyway.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Oct 22, 2015 at 19:04
  • Agreed about the double-duplicate thing; the question definitely seemed to be "do fight and combat interact?" along with "what happens if a blocker goes away?" (That's what I was trying to suggest in my first comment; I just didn't vote initially because I didn't want to close it as a duplicate of only one question and hadn't found the best candidate for the other.)
    – Cascabel
    Commented Oct 22, 2015 at 20:54

1 Answer 1


If you cast such an instant after declaring blockers, the following will happen:

Your creature A will fight creature C and they will both die. Creature B will still be blocked, and thus will not deal any damage to you unless it has trample.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .