2

I just played my first game of BSG (solo using the official fully cooperative rules). I've got the german edition so my card names might be a bit off...

The card "Inspirational Speech" says something like:

Action: Roll dice. If you roll 6 or higher you get +1 Morale and this card is put out of play. Otherwise it has no effect and is discarded.

Now apart from gaining the 1 Morale, what is the difference of what happens with the card?

  • There are other cards that follow the same pattern: If you're lucky you gain something and put the card out of play. otherwise discard it. I can recall "Food Rationing" to work like this too. – Kempeth Feb 27 '11 at 10:18
2

I can't find a shot of the English version of the card that I've played with, but I think I remember the card you mean, and the Morale is the only difference.

The fact that the card is taken out of play means you only have a limited number of opportunities to gain back Morale in this way, so you have to hope you roll well.

  • Yes. This is a way to use presidential powers to gain morale. That is all, but that's still powerful. – Neal Tibrewala Feb 28 '11 at 5:20
2

I figured it out. Under "Component Limitations" it says that if the Quorum cards deck runs out you shuffle all discarded Quorum cards into a new deck.

Which means that if you fail the check you have a chance of getting the card again IF you manage to burn through the whole Quorum deck. If you succeed then the card won't come again.

Until now I just never considered that you might actually get to draw all the Quorum cards...

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.