9

I came across the following scenario this weekend:

Suppose, in a single turn, all of a player's remaining elves are wiped off the board and returned to his hand, leaving him without any elves in play. On his next turn can he start from anywhere (that would be a legal starting territory), since he has no adjacent territories to attack?

2 Answers 2

13

Absolutely, the rulebook (on page 4) under the section on Enemy Loss & Withdrawals explicitly covers this:

If all of a player's Regions were attacked this turn, leaving him with some Race tokens in hand but none on the board, he may redeploy these as if he was doing a First Conquest, on his next turn.

As stated in the other answer, you can also voluntarily withdraw troops from some or all regions.

12

Yes - but you can also do this every go anyway. You simply need to abandon all regions when starting your turn.

Abandoning a Region

If the player chooses to abandon all the Regions he previously occupied, his next conquest must follow the same rules as its First Conquest (see First Conquest, p. 4).

http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/smallworld/en/img/sw_rules_2015_en.pdf

2
  • Oh wow, i did not know that. I thought minimum was 1 per area. Learned something new again!
    – Davy
    Commented Oct 26, 2015 at 10:29
  • The minimum 1 token per area rules only is in play at the end of your turn: it is allowed to empty regions at the beginning of your turn (when you gather your troops for attacking) but it's not allowed during the redeployment phase.
    – beewee
    Commented Nov 21, 2015 at 19:12

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .