2

When choosing a creature to sacrifice (originated from a "sacrifice a creature" instruction), if the creature that is being sacrificed has "sacrifice this creature (for whatever result)", does it trigger?

Does it make any difference if the target creature is a forced sacrifice instead of a volunteered sacrifice?

Example scenario: I play Altar's Reap to draw 2 cards and target Bile Urchin as the sacrifice. Does this trigger Bile Urchin's "Sacrifice Bile Urchin: Target player loses 1 life."?

I may have thought about this for too long and confused myself, so a little clarification would be great.

4

It will not. Sacrificing is a cost paid for the effect to go on stack. Just like you can not spend 1 mana on different costs, you can not spend 1 creature on different costs.

If you wanted it to work the way you described, the ability should be a triggered one, for example it could read: 'When this creature is sacrificed, ...'.

(Also, keep in mind that sacrificing is not targeting anything. Untargettable creatures can still be sacrificed)

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.