3

When Supply-Line Cranes enter the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature.

Can the cranes target themselves?

1
  • 1
    Not only can you, that's the beauty of it! A 3/5 for 5 is totally playable in limited. And at worst, that's what this guy is. But if you have a character with deathtouch, doublestrike, or even just a small flier that you'd like to survive against other 1 and 2 power fliers, you can put that +1/+1 on him.
    – corsiKa
    Nov 2, 2015 at 16:47

3 Answers 3

6

Yes. It is a valid target because it is on the battlefield when the trigger happens. What happens, in order:

  • Supply-Line Cranes enters the battlefield.
  • The game checks for any triggers that happen as a result of this event.
  • Supply-Line Cranes' trigger is found, and it triggers.
  • You put the trigger on the stack, and must choose a target at that time.
  • Supply-Line Cranes is a creature (and it's on the battlefield) at this time, so it is a valid target for you to choose.
  • When the trigger resolves, Supply-Line Cranes is still a valid target, so it resolves, putting the counter on Supply-Line Cranes.

The other answers are correct, but fail to mention that you must choose the target when the triggered ability goes on the stack, so it matters that it's a valid target when it triggers, not so much that it's a valid target when it resolves. (If it stopped being a valid target before it resolved, because it were destroyed with an instant or something, then the ability would be countered and go away. But it would still have been a valid/legal target in the first place).

4

In this text, Target creature can be any creature, Supply-Line Cranes is a creature, and - quite rightly said above - is on the battlefield when the ability resolves.

If the word "another" was placed before target creature in this text, this would mean any creature bar Supply-Line Cranes.

1
  • 1
    It makes no difference who is on the battlefield when the ability resolves. What matters is that Supply-Line Cranes is on the battlefield when the ability triggers.
    – Rainbolt
    Nov 2, 2015 at 22:22
1

Yes. The "When" phrase makes that a triggered ability, that triggers once the cranes are on the battlefield. When it triggers, it is put on the stack. When it resolves, the cranes are on the battlefield, and thus a legitimate target for the crane.

1
  • 3
    Not quite right. When the ability is put on the stack, it must have a valid target. The crane is on the battlefield, so it is valid.
    – JonTheMon
    Nov 2, 2015 at 14:17

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .