When Supply-Line Cranes enter the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature.
Can the cranes target themselves?
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
Yes. It is a valid target because it is on the battlefield when the trigger happens. What happens, in order:
The other answers are correct, but fail to mention that you must choose the target when the triggered ability goes on the stack, so it matters that it's a valid target when it triggers, not so much that it's a valid target when it resolves. (If it stopped being a valid target before it resolved, because it were destroyed with an instant or something, then the ability would be countered and go away. But it would still have been a valid/legal target in the first place).
Yes. The "When" phrase makes that a triggered ability, that triggers once the cranes are on the battlefield. When it triggers, it is put on the stack. When it resolves, the cranes are on the battlefield, and thus a legitimate target for the crane.