My friend attacked with Colossus of Akros (Monstrous 20/20 indestructible) and I blocked with my Xenagos, God of Revels (6/5 indestructible). I believe that our creatures are safe since indestructible prevents them from dying by combat damage.

My friend though believes that the indestructible ability would cancel each other out and his Colossus would destroy my Xenagos. Are there any rules that explains what happens in this situation?

  • 17
    Note that Colossus of Akros has trample when it is Monstrous, so you're still taking 15 damage from that hit.
    – murgatroid99
    Commented Nov 9, 2015 at 1:30
  • @murgatroid99 Oh it does, I guess we both overlooked that part of the monstrous ability.
    – John Odom
    Commented Nov 9, 2015 at 15:48

1 Answer 1


No, nothing like your friend's idea happens. Indestructible simply means they can't be destroyed, period. They can be exiled, returned to their owner's hand, sacrificed, have their toughness reduced to zero, shuffled into their owner's library, or even turned into frogs, but if anything tries to destroy them, including lethal damage, it just doesn't happen.

702.12b A permanent with indestructible can’t be destroyed. Such permanents aren't destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the state-based action that checks for lethal damage (see rule 704.5g).

There's no secret "...unless..." clause in the rules like your friend believes. The only way to actually destroy an indestructible creature is to make it stop being indestructible; usually that means causing it to lose all its abilities, like if you turn it into a frog!

  • 6
    Also worth noting that they can be turned into frogs and then destroyed, as usually when they're frogs they lose "indestructible". Commented Nov 9, 2015 at 5:06
  • I meant that they can't be destroyed when I said "our creatures are safe" but thanks for the quick answer!
    – John Odom
    Commented Nov 9, 2015 at 15:47
  • 1
    @JohnOdom I know, and that's what my answer is confirming, just with more rules-ish language. When I said "no" I meant to what your friend said.
    – Cascabel
    Commented Nov 9, 2015 at 17:34
  • Don't forget that indestructible creatures can also be removed by reducing toughness to 0 or less, or being moved to any other zone, such as the library or phase out zone (bounce and exile are only 2 zones).
    – user14271
    Commented Nov 9, 2015 at 18:54
  • 4
    Okay, I added those things, but really, I don't think this answer needs to contain a comprehensive list of every last way a permanent can "go away" besides being destroyed. The point is that it can't be destroyed. Yes, you could also keep them from attacking/blocking, you could take control of them, you could turn them over with Ixidron, phase them out with Sapphire Charm... but that's not really the question that needed answering here.
    – Cascabel
    Commented Nov 9, 2015 at 19:29

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .