0

This question already has an answer here:

I have two creatures and barrage of expendables on the battlefield. My opponent casts a spell with the effect: "Each opponent sacrifices a creature" Can I choose to sacrifice creature 1, then before my opponent's spell resolves, sacrifice creature 1 as the cost for barrage of expendables, thus resulting in only having lost creature 1?

marked as duplicate by Pow-Ian, Rainbolt, Alex P, bengoesboom, Cascabel Nov 9 '15 at 20:22

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    Well... It's not a perfect duplicate, since the sacrifice caused by Chainer's Edict* isn't strictly speaking a "cost". (*or whatever spell OP is talking about. AFAICT no card contains the exact text "Each opponent sacrifices a creature" and nothing else) – Kevin Nov 9 '15 at 20:13
  • Also boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/5892/… (but it's already marked as a dup of the final dup chosen here). – Cascabel Nov 9 '15 at 20:22
  • 3
    The way you've phrased this there's actually one thing worth mentioning that's left implicit in the other questions: when a spell says to sacrifice a creature, you choose the creature to sacrifice when the spell resolves. It's not like something that says "target creature" where you pick up front; you wait until something says to sacrifice and then choose. That means there's never any way to cheat out of it like this: as long as you have at least one creature, you're going to lose one. – Cascabel Nov 9 '15 at 20:27
  • 1
    This is also a near duplicate of Can I cast a spell while another spell or ability is resolving?. You cannot begin resolving a spell by choosing a creature to sacrifice, then go do something else, and then finish resolving the spell. You have to resolve the spell all at once, and then you can do other stuff. – Rainbolt Nov 9 '15 at 23:23