3

I know lands are colourless, but is a land a colourless spell? Would it activate Molten Nursery or any other card that is activated with a colourless spell?

3
  • By the way, lands aren't always colorless, they could be colored when stated. I believe Dryad Arbor is the only colored land from the top of my head though. And of course if you have something like Painter's Servant on the battlefield
    – Ivo
    Nov 17, 2015 at 11:04
  • Mycosynth Lattice?? Nov 17, 2015 at 15:20
  • @Nathan Taylor, That won't make a difference. 305.9. If an object is both a land and another card type, it can be played only as a land. It can’t be cast as a spell.
    – ikegami
    Nov 18, 2015 at 16:20

2 Answers 2

15

Lands are never spells, even if they have other types like Dryad Arbor.

305.1. A player who has priority may play a land card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Playing a land is a special action; it doesn’t use the stack (see rule 115). Rather, the player simply puts the land onto the battlefield. Since the land doesn’t go on the stack, it is never a spell, and players can’t respond to it with instants or activated abilities.

305.9. If an object is both a land and another card type, it can be played only as a land. It can’t be cast as a spell.

10

Lands are not spells. They have no mana cost and you do not cast them. Rule 305.1 describes how lands are played:

A player who has priority may play a land card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Playing a land is a special action; it doesn’t use the stack (see rule 115). Rather, the player simply puts the land onto the battlefield. Since the land doesn’t go on the stack, it is never a spell, and players can’t respond to it with instants or activated abilities.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .