9

So a buddy and I were playing a game of Magic that turned out to be a really quick game because he got King Macar, the Gold-Cursed out on the battlefield early. He was tapping it without attacking because of its obviously awesome ability but I don't know if you can tap a creature for its Inspired (untap-triggered) ability without attacking for it to then be tapped. Are you allowed to tap a creature whenever you want?

4
  • 1
    As a side note Aura of Dominion is an awesome card with inspired creatures. They can then tap themselves to untap themselves for 1 mana
    – Ivo
    Dec 3, 2015 at 22:47
  • And Mothdust Changeling is a nice cheap creature that gives you a way to tap your creatures for free
    – Ivo
    Dec 3, 2015 at 22:50
  • @IvoBeckers Which is nice, because you get the golem for an extra mana. :-D
    – corsiKa
    Dec 4, 2015 at 2:04
  • @IvoBeckers I'm really wishing Macar had blue in his identity now... Dec 4, 2015 at 16:06

1 Answer 1

23

You can't just tap your creatures whenever you want. You can only tap it at one of the following times:

  • When the game tells you to tap it (like when you attack).
  • When a card tells you to tap it (like Twiddle).
  • When you can tap it to pay a cost (like Endless Obedience).

Cards that would allow you to tap King Macar include spells with conspire and convoke, cards that grant tap abilities (that has a couple of false positives), and cards that tap creatures as an effect.

2
  • 8
    And of course, this is the reason that Inspired is an interesting mechanic. If you could tap creatures at will, Inspired abilities would basically just be "at the beginning of your upkeep" abilities.
    – Cascabel
    Dec 3, 2015 at 19:11
  • 3
    Further, consider the implication on the "Untap as a cost" mechanic in Shadowmoor. If you could tap your creatures whenever you wanted, that would be a pretty silly "cost". Dec 3, 2015 at 21:37

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .