So my question is if I have Alesha, Who Smiles at Death on the battlefield can I use her ability to bring back a creature where * is the cards power, for example Kolaghan Forerunners?

  • 1
    There's a ruling for Kolaghan Forerunners in Gatherer answering this very question.
    – ikegami
    Dec 4 '15 at 20:17

The Forerunners have what is called Characteristic-Defining Ability, and those function in all zones. So you can only return them with Alesha if you have less than 3 creatures on the battlefield.

208.2a The card may have a characteristic-defining ability that sets its power and/or toughness according to some stated condition. (See rule 604.3.) Such an ability is worded “[This creature’s] [power or toughness] is equal to . . .” or “[This creature’s] power and toughness are each equal to . . .” This ability functions everywhere, even outside the game. If the ability needs to use a number that can’t be determined, including inside a calculation, use 0 instead of that number.

  • ok, that's kind of how I figured it would play out but wanted to makes sure. Thanks Dec 4 '15 at 14:00
  • It would be useful to point out that not all creatures with * as their power have characteristic-defining abilities, and fall under rule 208.2b. For example, Sewer Nemesis.
    – Hao Ye
    Dec 5 '15 at 3:15
  • @HaoYe I'm not sure offhand, but it looks like Sewer Nemesis does have a characteristic-defining ability, just one that doesn't do anything without a player being chosen. Not that the distinction matters in practice.
    – David Z
    Dec 6 '15 at 6:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.