2

My friend attacks with a creature with double strike (e.g. Boros Swiftblade). I block with a creature, then I Cloudshift it. Do I or my creature take any damage from the double strike?

3

If you cast Cloudshift during the Declare Blockers Step, specifically rule 509.5, than your creature will not suffer combat damage (506.4), but the Creature with Double Strike is still considered Blocked for the Combat Damage Step. It will assign no damage for either the first strike or normal combat damage portions.

510.1c A blocked creature assigns its combat damage to the creatures blocking it. If no creatures are currently blocking it (if, for example, they were destroyed or removed from combat), it assigns no combat damage.

  • 2
    The crucial rule that should be mentioned is that a creature that leaves the battlefield for any length of time (e.g. through Cloudshift) is also removed from combat. – Hackworth Dec 6 '15 at 23:32
  • 3
    The two relevant rules are probably "400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence." and "506.4. A permanent is removed from combat if it leaves the battlefield, ..." – Cascabel Dec 6 '15 at 23:42
  • 4
    If the attacking creature has trample, then the defending player will still take damage. ​ ​ – user13741 Dec 7 '15 at 4:24
  • And it will be the full damage, since there is no longer a blocker to 'soak' up some of the damage with its toughness. – Cronax Dec 7 '15 at 16:56
  • 1
    Trample is beyond the scope of the question. – Drunk Cynic Dec 7 '15 at 17:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.