3

When I have Karlov of the Ghost Council and Soul Warden on the battlefield and I cast something like Lingering Souls, does Karlov get two +1/+1 counters twice since two spirits enter the battlefield or only once since I cast Lingering Souls once?

The same thing applies to beautiful cards such as Conqueror's Pledge - does Karlov get two +1/+1 counters six times or only once?

  • 2
    By the way: there are no +2/+2 counters involved in this situation. Only +1/+1 counters. (+2/+2 counters are only used on a few very old cards.) – David Z Dec 13 '15 at 22:08
7

Soul Warden's ability reads:

Whenever another creature enters the battlefield, you gain 1 life.

When Lingering Souls resolves, there are two separate instances of "another creature" entering the battlefield, and so the ability triggers twice, and you gain 1 life twice in two separate events. Thus, Karlov's ability will trigger twice, and he will gain four +1/+1 counters. Likewise, using Conqueror's Pledge instead will net you 6 life and twelve counters.

Compare rule 603.2c and its example:

603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences. See also rule 509.4.

Example: A permanent has an ability whose trigger condition reads, “Whenever a land is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . .” If someone casts a spell that destroys all lands, the ability will trigger once for each land put into the graveyard during the spell’s resolution.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.