when I have Karlov of the Ghost Council and Righteous Cause on the battlefield and I attack with three creatures, does Karlos get six +1/+1 counters or only two counters since the creatures attack simultaneously?

Not sure whether the word "whenever" triggers for each creature or whether the attack counts as one trigger.

Thank you again!

  • 1
    I'm not sure if this should be a duplicate of boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/27938/… or not...
    – GendoIkari
    Dec 14, 2015 at 15:23
  • 1
    @GendoIkari I think it's not because this question is essentially "how many attacking creature triggers do I get from combat", while the other is "how many ETB triggers do I get from multiple creatures entering at the same time". The questions just happen to involve similar setups, cards-wise.
    – Hackworth
    Dec 14, 2015 at 15:30

1 Answer 1


Karlov will get 6 +1/+1 counters with Righteous Cause. This is because the trigger says "Whenever a creature attacks", so it triggers for each creature. If however it had been worded like Path of Bravery, which says "Whenever one or more creatures you control attack", that would only be one instance of life gain and thus only 2 +1/+1 counters.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .