1

Recognizing that I am arguing against pretty clear rules, but my buddy and I got in an argument regarding the logic behind only getting two pegs/points (Vs. 3) when you get a "go" from your partner and then place one or more cards down to eventually get to 31.

My logic (working against the rules) is that I should get 1 peg/point for my partners "go" and 2 pegs/points for reaching 31 (total of 3 points for the flurry of activity). My argument is based on the fact that at any other time during the game when my partner says "go" I get 1 point......the only exception to this is when I place my cards down after the go and they result in a 31. I argued with him last night that if the inventor of cribbage was alive today and I pointed out that I should get 3 points (1 for the go and 2 for hitting 31 directly) that they would say "hmmm....you are right....I missed that".

His rationale, is that when scoring 31, you are getting one point for hitting 31 exactly and 1 bonus point representing your partners' inability to play an additional card (his "go"). Hey says "whether a "go" is said or not, the go is implied when you place the last card at the end of the round to make 31....thus giving you two points when you reach 31 even when a "go" is communicated".

Any insight into how to argue either side of this scoring mess?

  • Your buddy is right. – bowlturner Dec 18 '15 at 22:32
13

The official cribbage rules make this incredibly clear:

Rule 1.6 - Definitions
...
go: Called by a player who cannot play a card without exceeding the cumulative count of 31; the opponent scores one point, or two if reaching exactly 31.

In this, calling a 31 is just a special case of a go.

-3

When you have a pair which will put you @31 IE 2 pairs of 2 that is 2 points for the pair and two points for the 31 obtained. A total of four points.

  • 1
    This does not provide an answer to the question. Once you have sufficient reputation you will be able to comment on any post; instead, provide answers that don't require clarification from the asker. - From Review – Nij Jul 23 '18 at 5:56
  • @Nij - This is an answer, I'm not sure what it adds to the other answer though. – Pat Ludwig Jul 23 '18 at 6:13
  • The question is about why a player receives only two points when completing a 31 after the opponent's go, as opposed to 1 for the go and 2 for the 31, which the existing answer correctly explains. It has nothing to do with pairs or other situations involving the completed 31. It therefore does not answer the question at all. @PatLudwig – Nij Jul 23 '18 at 6:19
  • @Nij - If you have further concerns please take them to Board & Card Games Meta. As this answer includes the quote "and two points for the 31 obtained" I'd be interested to hear how it does not answer the question at all. – Pat Ludwig Jul 23 '18 at 14:45
  • 2
    It mentions it because that is the actual rule now. It doesn't explain why 2 instead of 1 or 3, it doesn't mention the go, and it brings up the entirely unrelated score for a pair. Not even close to an answer to this question. – Nij Jul 23 '18 at 19:12
-3

I used to agree with your buddy, but now I agree with you. I play an online game of cribbage. The game gives me one point when my partner says ‘go’ and two more points if I get 31 exactly after the go.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.