1

when using the rule for adding the three red fives in riichi mahjong, does one add the fives to the set, or do they replace fives already in the set with the red fives?

2

You replace them, because otherwise we will end up with five copies of the 5-numbered tiles, which is not the intention of using red fives.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.