10

In Settlers of Catan, when a player plays a Knight card ("Solider" card in older editions), do players with 8 cards or more in their hand have to forfeit half their hand to the bank?

This is causing a huge row in our family as I think that this forfeit rule only applies to rolling a seven and not to playing a Knight card.

15

No, you don't lose half your hand if a knight card is played.

The rules for 'rolling a 7 and activating the Robber' state

every player who was more than 7 Resource Cards must select half (rounded down) of his Resource Cards and return them to the bank.

The you must move the robber Proceed as follows.....

then steps 1 and 2 are stated for stealing a resource.

The rules for a solider cards state

you must immediately move the robber. See activating the robber and and follow steps 1 and 2

It does not state everyone loses cards if they have 8 or more.

To clarify the rules for losing cards if you have more than 8 are only triggered for rolling a 7 and in no other way.

  • 2
    Thanks for the response. In fact I found the answer on the catan.com website FAQ's Know it all son has been informed. His response was that I could not possibly have known that at the time so I was obviously cheated. Looks like a good game (this is only my second game), but I might need to find somebody else to play it with! – Barnabear Dec 31 '15 at 23:31
  • Sounds like someone is a sore loser. :) Lots of kids struggle with it, especially motivated ones! Good life lessons. – Andrew Vandever Jan 1 '16 at 0:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.