3

I have 2 questions, one generally-scoped and one specific:

  1. Can I activate the effect of Disenchanter while it is still in my hand?

  2. In general, can one activate monsters' ignition effects from the hand?

Disenchanter:

Once per turn: You can target 1 face-up Spell Card on the field; remove 1 Spell Counter from anywhere on the field, and if you do, return that target to the hand.

1

Quite simply, no. It is common knowledge that a monster has to be on the field or revealed from the hand/graveyard/banished zone (if the card permits it) to be able to resolve ANY effect, given the conditions (if any) are met, unless the card says otherwise.

You can always play Disenchanter on the field, THEN activate its effect.

  • Could you please add the exact wording from the rulebook? I would upvote this, but I want to make sure that your answer is accurate and the best way to do that would be to quote the relevant text straight out of the rulebook instead of "the Rulebook specifically says..." – Thunderforge Apr 8 '17 at 0:00
  • @Thunderforge , I would, though I have lost the rulebook. I can only remember it. =) – VortexYT Apr 8 '17 at 8:38
  • Well, the rule book is online. Perhaps you can find the rule there? – Thunderforge Apr 8 '17 at 14:56
  • @Thunderforge, I didn't mean that sort if Rulebook; I meant one of those quick start guides – VortexYT Jun 9 '17 at 20:40
  • to my understanding unless the card states that it can be played from the hand then it cant, pretty sure if you asked a konami judge they wouldnt allow this to be done from the hand – WhatsThePoint Jul 12 '17 at 7:57
-2
  1. No
  2. Not unless it explicitly says so.

See this link for more details.

  • 2
    Can you add more info in your answer about what the link contains, it is encouraged that a questions and answers has more content. – Mauricio Arias Olave May 2 '16 at 22:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.