In Terra Mystica, under most structures, you find the income that building generates. But, the Sanctuary also has a weird hexagon:

enter image description here

The gold outline looks just like those used on the town tokens. I couldn't find anything about it in the rules, looking under anything I could find related to the Sanctuary or towns (based on the shape). I don't see the image anywhere either.

It looks important. What am I missing?


This seems to be a common enough question that there's a link directly to a thread about it on the game's boardgamegeek page.

Short answer, quoted from one of those threads: "It means you only need a minimum of 3 connected buildings instead of 4 when forming a town if the sanctuary is part of these structures."

  • 3
    And from that thread, this actually is in the rulebook, on page 14, in the "founding a town" section. It's even in a little highlighted box, with the icon and everything. Seems obvious in retrospect, but the rules are so full of boxes and notes and special sections that I'm not surprised I'm the only one who missed it.
    – mattdm
    Jan 2 '16 at 17:48
  • Er, not surprised I'm not the only one. Whatever. :)
    – mattdm
    Jan 3 '16 at 15:39
  • I actually got to use this answer last night, the first time I'd actually played TM in months, when another new player asked the precise question :)
    – Josh
    Jan 3 '16 at 15:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.