10

In Pandemic, when there are 2 or 3 cubes of the same color on a cured city, does the Containment Specialist remove only 1 cube when he lands or all of the cubes (like when treating) since it is cured?

12

The key verb here is treat.

From the game base rules (emphasis mine):

Treat Disease:

Remove 1 disease cube from the city you are in, placing it in the cube supply next to the board. If this disease color has been cured (see Discover a Cure below), remove all cubes of that color from the city you are in.

The Medic can remove all cubes from a cured disease simply by entering it but it's his role privilege, other roles still have to spend a second action to cure all the cubes

MEDIC

The Medic removes all cubes, not 1, of the same color when doing the Treat Disease action. If a disease has been cured, he automatically removes all cubes of that color from a city, simply by entering it or being there. This does not take an action.

For instance, the containment specialist drives to Atlanta where there are 3 blue cubes (1 action). By doing so, he removes a cube for free, but only one since it's not a Treat action. Then he treats the blue disease thus removing the remaining two cubes (1 action)

CONTAINMENT SPECIALIST

When you enter a city with 2 or more cubes of the same color, remove 1 cube

  • 2
    Okay, that's what I thought, but I wanted to make sure. – user14787 Jan 5 '16 at 2:51
  • I've looked and can't see where to "accept the answer." I had already clicked "answer is useful." Is there something else I need to do? – user14787 Jan 6 '16 at 17:04
  • If you look the answers to a question you've asked, there are 3 buttons on the left: a Up arrow (the one you clicked, thanks for that ;-)) ; the down arrow if the answer was not useful and a "check" button to accept the answer if it solved your problem. The check button doesn't show up on answers on other peoples' questions... – beewee Jan 6 '16 at 21:47
  • Okay, got it! Thanks for letting me know how to play the game. :) – user14787 Jan 8 '16 at 1:13
  • No problem! Thanks for playing it ;-) BTW, there's a quick tour that you can take. It will show you the ropes (and you'll get a badge for that ;-)): boardgames.stackexchange.com/tour – beewee Jan 8 '16 at 5:47
5

CONTAINMENT SPECIALIST

When you enter a city with 2 or more disease cubes of the same color, remove 1 of them.

Upon entering the city with two or more cubes of the same color, the Containment Specialist removes 1 of those cubes - that's it.

This ability has nothing to do with treating the disease.

In particular it doesn't care whether the disease is cured or not.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.