2

In the Lord of the Rings co-op game, you can discard quest cards with stars on any activity track since they are considered wild cards; however, when an event requires you to discard cards with a specific type (travelling, hiding, friendship, or fighting), can a quest card with a star be discarded instead?

  • 1
    I don't see why not personally but can't find a definitive response in the rulebook. Since I don't have the board to hand can you give example text from one of the events in question? – Tom Wilkinson Jan 4 '16 at 16:32
  • I don't have the board in front of me at the moment, but it was one of those events where the whole fellowship has to discard 5 hiding cards (the shield icon). The other players could discard 4, and while I didn't have a single hiding card, I had a card with a star. We ultimately played the star like a shield, but a couple players were unsure about it, but the rulebook didn't help. – John Jan 4 '16 at 16:36
  • 1
    I found a picture of that exact example on BGG just now. In the rulebook it says: "Some cards have star symbols, which are wild. These may be played as any Activity symbol (Fighting, Friendship, Hiding, or Traveling)." but doesn't specify that it applies at all times. Would seem reasonable to do so though. – Tom Wilkinson Jan 4 '16 at 16:39
  • 1
    Apparently it doesn't matter. There is no source to backup this guy's comment though: boardgamegeek.com/thread/774259/discarding-cards-event – Tom Wilkinson Jan 4 '16 at 16:53
  • 1
    Ahaha! Also, Frodo can use any white Hobbit card for this purpose. From the FAQ at freespace.virgin.net/chris.lawson/rk/lotr/faq.htm: "Example: The Event cost at Speak Friend and Enter requires the players to discard a Friendship and Joker symbol. Frodo volunteers since he can discard any two white Hobbit cards to pay for the cost." I believe the FAQ at this site (which is really an annotated rule set) is Knizia-approved. It's a good place to know about if you plan to play this game many times. – Tom Wilkinson Jan 4 '16 at 17:01
3

Firstly I will point out there are two versions of the game: Fantasy Flight and the Original

Original Edition

The FAQ states:

Example: The Event cost at Speak Friend and Enter requires the players to discard a Friendship and Joker symbol. Frodo volunteers since he can discard any two white Hobbit cards to pay for the cost.

Frodo's ability is the same as a wildcard (or Joker as this edition calls them) and therefore I would say it is clearly correct in this edition to use a wildcard in this manner.

Fantasy Flight (Current)

The Rulebook states:

Some cards have star symbols, which are wild. These may be played as any Activity symbol (Fighting, Friendship, Hiding, or Traveling).

It doesn't give a specific example like the older edition but given the older edition allows the usage of wildcards for events it would seem logical that it is still allowed.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.