Is it possible to have a scenario where you pick a tile up, and are unable to make a legal placement with it?

What happens in this scenario?

1 Answer 1


I found this rule very quickly in the rules.

In the rare circumstance where a drawn tile has no legal placement (and all players agree), the player discards the tile from the game (into the box) and draws another tile to place

For example:
enter image description here

  • 7
    An example of when this could happen in the base game is if the starting city is closed off and you draw the tile that is just city interior with no borders.
    – ConMan
    Jan 11, 2016 at 22:48
  • 1
    The River Expansion tends to nullify this probability...
    – beewee
    Jan 11, 2016 at 23:37
  • 4
    The river expansion does not nullify this probability. I have encountered unplayable tiles with it - very occasionally.
    – Chenmunka
    Jan 12, 2016 at 13:02
  • 1
    The shown example is just the shortest play to get to a non-playable tile. I have certainly seen it come up well into the game as well.
    – MAP
    Jul 24, 2016 at 11:31

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .