Is it possible to have a scenario where you pick a tile up, and are unable to make a legal placement with it?

What happens in this scenario?


I found this rule very quickly in the rules.

In the rare circumstance where a drawn tile has no legal placement (and all players agree), the player discards the tile from the game (into the box) and draws another tile to place

For example:
enter image description here

  • 7
    An example of when this could happen in the base game is if the starting city is closed off and you draw the tile that is just city interior with no borders. – ConMan Jan 11 '16 at 22:48
  • 1
    The River Expansion tends to nullify this probability... – beewee Jan 11 '16 at 23:37
  • 4
    The river expansion does not nullify this probability. I have encountered unplayable tiles with it - very occasionally. – Chenmunka Jan 12 '16 at 13:02
  • 1
    The shown example is just the shortest play to get to a non-playable tile. I have certainly seen it come up well into the game as well. – MAP Jul 24 '16 at 11:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.