Can my opponent cast Turn to Frog, to prevent 'Enter the battlefield' abilities?


No, Turn to Frog can only be cast on creatures that have already entered the battlefield, so it can't prevent ETB abilities from triggering.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    Turn to Frog is setting P/T, that's layer 7b. 7a is for things like Tarmagoyf (or Veteran Warleader for an example in current standard). – Michael Snook Jan 28 '16 at 5:09
  • 4
    The answer to the other question is a little more subtle: if the creature entering has an ETB trigger, Turn to Frog can't stop it, but if a creature has a "whenever a(nother) creature enters the battlefield" ability, Turn to Frog can stop it if cast in response to casting another creature. – murgatroid99 Jan 28 '16 at 5:11
  • 3
    I went ahead and edited this down to just the non-duplicate question - sorry for making some of your answer not apply, but as you said, multiple questions should be separate, and one of them was already there. You could post another answer on the dup if you want! – Cascabel Jan 28 '16 at 5:46
  • 2
    The current situation here isn't good... the accepted answer has little to do with the current question. – GendoIkari Jan 28 '16 at 18:15
  • I REALLY wonder why I get 2 downvotes on my answer. That is usually reserved for blatantly wrong answers, which mine obviously isn't, and since the OP accepted mine, it is clear he did not ask about fringe cases such as creatures triggering on other creatures entering the battlefield. – Hackworth Jan 28 '16 at 20:03

There are two cases of "Enter the Battlefield" abilities.

If the ability is on the creature entering the battlefield, such as Abbot of Keral Keep, Turn to Frog isn't an answer. You can't target the creature until it has entered the battlefield. Once it has entered the battlefield, the Ability has already been triggered and is being added to the stack.

However, if the ability is on a creature already on the battlefield, such as Agent of Erebos or Ivy Lane Denizen, Turn to Frog is a valid answer. In response to any number of effects that would cause creatures to enter the battlefield, casting Turn to Frog while they are on the stack will pre-empt the ability. Turn to Frog will resolve first, affecting the target with the Enter the battlefield effect. When other creatures enter the battlefield, the ability no longer exists.

| improve this answer | |

In magic, when it said "target creature", that means that the spell can only target a creature that already is on the battlefield.

Some spells can target a creature (or other permanents) that are in the graveyard, or exiled, or the players themselves, but it's said explicitly in the spell. (thanks RainBolt) The conterspells target the spell itself and not the creature or whatever that the spell will summon

So all effects occuring when entering the battlefield already happened... and changing the force of the creature will not change that

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.