Can my opponent cast Turn to Frog, to prevent 'Enter the battlefield' abilities?


3 Answers 3


There are two cases of "Enter the Battlefield" abilities.

If the ability is on the creature entering the battlefield, such as Abbot of Keral Keep, Turn to Frog isn't an answer. You can't target the creature until it has entered the battlefield. Once it has entered the battlefield, the Ability has already been triggered and is being added to the stack.

However, if the ability is on a creature already on the battlefield, such as Agent of Erebos or Ivy Lane Denizen, Turn to Frog is a valid answer. In response to any number of effects that would cause creatures to enter the battlefield, casting Turn to Frog while they are on the stack will pre-empt the ability. Turn to Frog will resolve first, affecting the target with the Enter the battlefield effect. When other creatures enter the battlefield, the ability no longer exists.


No, Turn to Frog can only be cast on creatures that have already entered the battlefield, so it can't prevent ETB abilities from triggering.

  • 1
    Turn to Frog is setting P/T, that's layer 7b. 7a is for things like Tarmagoyf (or Veteran Warleader for an example in current standard). Jan 28, 2016 at 5:09
  • 4
    The answer to the other question is a little more subtle: if the creature entering has an ETB trigger, Turn to Frog can't stop it, but if a creature has a "whenever a(nother) creature enters the battlefield" ability, Turn to Frog can stop it if cast in response to casting another creature.
    – murgatroid99
    Jan 28, 2016 at 5:11
  • 3
    I went ahead and edited this down to just the non-duplicate question - sorry for making some of your answer not apply, but as you said, multiple questions should be separate, and one of them was already there. You could post another answer on the dup if you want!
    – Cascabel
    Jan 28, 2016 at 5:46
  • 2
    The current situation here isn't good... the accepted answer has little to do with the current question.
    – GendoIkari
    Jan 28, 2016 at 18:15
  • I REALLY wonder why I get 2 downvotes on my answer. That is usually reserved for blatantly wrong answers, which mine obviously isn't, and since the OP accepted mine, it is clear he did not ask about fringe cases such as creatures triggering on other creatures entering the battlefield.
    – Hackworth
    Jan 28, 2016 at 20:03

In magic, when it said "target creature", that means that the spell can only target a creature that already is on the battlefield.

Some spells can target a creature (or other permanents) that are in the graveyard, or exiled, or the players themselves, but it's said explicitly in the spell. (thanks RainBolt) The conterspells target the spell itself and not the creature or whatever that the spell will summon

So all effects occuring when entering the battlefield already happened... and changing the force of the creature will not change that


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .